Subscribe to San Francisco Magazine

Mod Lux Feeds

Now Playing

Top Tweets From the BART Strike

What the Twitterverse is saying about the great BART meltdown.

With BART employees on strike, causing communte chaos across the Bay Area, we turned to Twitter to gauge the online reaction. Here are the most insightful and funniest tweets we found.

 

Craig Derrick ‏@craigderrick: When BART strikes the crazy naked acrobats win.

Gregory the Grape ‏@leducviolet: "my tech job benefits are a joke. why should BART operators get real benefits. I hate all unions" ~people on facebook

Caleb Garling ‏@CalebGarling: The BART strike: It's like having your car break down. But social

Justin Papa ‏@justinpapa: Highest paid #BART salary tops 400K--what more do you want from the #BARTStrike? Come on!

newtman ‏@newtman: It was heart-warming to tune-in to @KQEDForum this morning and hear that almost *every* caller was anti-BART union.

Brian Delaney ‏@maxmzd: Want to end the #BART strike? LET ME DRIVE THE TRAIN. No pension required.

Brandon Younger ‏@BrandonYounger: Much respect to the Bart employees for standing up for themselves and taking action!

Tom Mc Shea ‏@TomMcShea: I would be able to take protesting BART workers' claims of "Safety First!" more seriously if they weren't demanding a dramatic pay raise.

Alisa Sortino ‏@AlisaSortino: On the way to work I saw a lady who looked 70 years old pushing herself along using a Razor scooter. I'm guessing the Bart strike happened?

B I G M A N ‏@OG_Choppaz: All you Bart riders wish y'all had whips rite about now

Jonathan Marino ‏@JonMarino: Next big thing in the Valley should call itself 'Bart' since it might just have the power to disrupt everything in SF.

Logan McGrath ‏@logan_mcgrath: The BART employees on strike are leveraging kazoos with surprising ferocity

Marc Novakowski ‏@marcn: I'm curious how the BART workers are going to get to the picket lines with BART not running…

Sal Castaneda ‏@sal_castaneda: In 1997 I covered the last BART strike and now I'm ready should there be another. Bring it. The @KTVU Morning News begins at 4 A.M.

Sho Kuwamoto ‏@skuwamoto: Is there a reason why BART workers and MUNI workers don't collude and strike together? They would obviously have more leverage.

Kenny Pate ‏@kennypate: Today's BART strike makes me glad (for once) to live in San Jose.

Nick Mamatas @NMamatas: Commute a nightmare due to the BART strike? Angry, upset, and impotent? THIS IS THE SECRET GAY AGENDA REVEALED!

JC ‏@Ranklediff: Give up your car and bike/ Or having to work to hike./ Be ever so smart/ Ride on BART/ ...and then unions will call a strike.

glassresistor ‏@glassresistor: thanks bart strike for letting me stay in my underwear 

Catherine Bracy ‏@cbracy: As far as I'm concerned the BART strike has approx. 21 hours before it stops being cute.


Have feedback? Email us at letterssf@modernluxury.com
Email Scott Lucas at slucas@modernluxury.com
Follow us on Twitter @sanfranmag
Follow Scott Lucas on Twitter @ScottLucas86